Literary/ Jazz Desktop Backgrounds

by Daniel Hartley

I’ve been away for a month or so, mainly because I’ve been finishing my Research MA dissertation. To mark my return I thought I’d start with something fun. If you haven’t already, you should really check out A Piece of Monologue, one of the best literary blogs around (and by far the most aesthetically pleasing). Rhys Tranter, the guy who runs the site, has recently started designing literary- and musical-themed desktop wallpaper backgrounds. Here are a few of my favourites:

Samuel Beckett (You’ll quickly learn that if something – anything – has ever happened to either Beckett or David Lynch, then Rhys will know about it and have put a link to it! Indeed, he even has a great website dedicated to all things Lynch, Industrial Symphony)

Philip Roth

Blue Note Jazz Musicians – Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane (These both link to a sister site of A Piece of Monologue)